2005 Miles Franklin Award Longlist

In what appears to be a first, at least for me, the Miles Franklin award people have released a "longlist" of 12 books vying for this year's award.

That list is:

Salt Rain by Sarah Armstrong
The Gift of Speed by Stephen Carroll
Backwaters by Robert Engwerda
The Ghost Writer by John Harwood
The Broken Book by Susan Johnson
Sixty Lights by Gail Jones
A Private Man by Malcolm Knox
The Philosopher's Doll by Amanda Lohrey
The White Earth by Andrew McGahan
I Have Kissed Your Lips by Gerard Windsor
The Submerged Cathedral by Charlotte Wood
The Last Ride by Denise Young

The shortlist (generally of 6 novels) will be announced on April 21, and the winner on June 23. Matilda has featured The Gift of Speed, The White Earth and Sixty Lights here previously, and once the shortlist is announced I'll ensure I feature all books with their web-based reviews.

Interestingly none of the authors listed has won the award before. Early tip for the winner is McGahan.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on April 15, 2005 10:07 AM.

Locus 2004 Recommended Reading List was the previous entry in this blog.

2005 NSW Premier's Literary Awards Shortlists is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en