Dorothy Porter

Brief Biography

Dorothy Porter was born in 1954 and grew up in Sydney and the Blue Mountains. She later attended the University of Sydney and taught creative writing at the University of Technology, Sydney, but is now living in Melbourne.

The Monkey's Mask won the Age Book of the Year for Poetry, the National Book Council Award for Poetry and the Braille Book of the Year. It has been adapted for stage and radio and film. The book has been widely translated and published overseas. What a Piece of Work and Wild Surmise were both shortlisted for the Miles Franklin Award.


Verse Novels
Akhenaten 1992
The Monkey's Mask 1994
What a Piece of Work 1999
Wild Surmise 2002

Little Hoodlum 1975
Bison 1979
The Night Parrot 1984
Driving Too Fast 1989
Crete 1996
Other Worlds: Poems 1997-2001 2001

Young Adult
Rookwood 1991
The Witch Number 1993 (aka Secret Friends)

The Ghost Wife 1999
The Eternity Man 2003

Web Presence
In a piece originally written for a panel on verse novels at the Sydney Writers' Festival, Porter gives her views on the highs and lows of this particular writing form.

This page and its contents are copyright 2005 by Perry Middlemiss, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.

[Prev] Return to Larrikin Literature Page.

Last modified: February 16, 2005.