Frank Moorhouse

Brief Biography

Frank Moorhouse was born in Nowra, NSW, in 1938. He started as a cadet journalist on the Daily Telegraph in Sydney before working in the country on a variety of newspapers. He returned to Sydney in 1963 to edit the Australian Worker, and later edited City Voices, a Sydney journal based on New York's Village Voice. Since the 1970s he has written on a full-time basis.

Frank Moorhouse was made AM in 1985.

Moorhouse's novel Dark Palace won the 2001 Miles Franklin Award.


Forty-Seventeen 1988
Grand Days 1993
Dark Palace 2000

Short Story Collections
Futility and Other Animals 1969
The Americans, Baby 1972
The Electrical Experience 1974
Conference-ville 1976
Tales of Mystery and Romance 1977
The Everlasting Secret Family and Other Secrets 1980
Selected Stories 1982 (aka The Coca-Cola Kid 1985)
Room Service 1985
Lateshows 1990

Days of Wine and Rage 1980
The State of the Art 1983
Fictions 1988

Between Wars 1974
The Everlasting Secret Family 1988

This page and its contents are copyright 2001 by Perry Middlemiss, Victoria, Australia.

[Prev] Return to Larrikin Literature Page.

Last modified: September 7, 2001.