Christopher J. Koch

Brief Biography

Christopher Koch was born in Hobart, Tasmania, in 1932 though he now lives in Sydney. He worked as a radio producer for the Australian Broadcasting Commission for more than ten years before leaving that position in 1972 to write full-time.

Christopher Koch has won the Miles Franklin Award on two occasions: in 1985 for The Doubleman and in 1996 for Highways to a War. His novel The Year of Living Dangerously won The Age Book of the Year Award and was successfully filmed.


The Boys in the Island 1958
Across the Sea Wall 1965
The Boys in the Island 1974 - revised edition
The Year of Living Dangerously 1978
The Doubleman 1985
Highways to a War 1995
Out of Ireland 1999

Chinese Journey, 1985 (with Nicholas Hasluck)

Film Adaptations
The Year of Living Dangerously was filmed by Peter Weir in 1983 (from a screenplay by Christopher Koch, Peter Weir and David Williamson) and featured Mel Gibson, Sigourney Weaver and Linda Hunt, who won an Academy Award for her portrayal of Billy Kwan.

This page and its contents are copyright © 1997-2002 by Perry Middlemiss, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.

[Prev] Return to Larrikin Literature page.

Last modified: March 28, 2002.