Nicholas Hasluck

Brief Biography

Nicholas Hasluck was born in Canberra in 1942 and later studied law at the University of Western Australia (1963) and Oxford (1966). After completing his studies he worked briefly in Fleet Street in London as an editorial assistant before returning to Australia in 1967 to work as a barrister. He was deputy chairman of the Australia Council 1978-82 and was made AM. His father Sir Paul Hasluck was a minister in the Federal Government under Robert Menzies, and was later appointed Governor-General of Australia. On 1st May 2000 Nicholas Hasluck was appointed as a justice of the Supreme Court of Western Australia.

The Bellarmine Jug was the winner of the Age Book of the Year Award in 1984 and The Country Without Music was joint 1990 winner of the WA Premier's Award for fiction.

His novels Truant State and The Country Without Music were both shortlisted for the Miles Franklin Award.


Quarantine 1978
The Blue Guitar 1980
The Hand That Feeds You 1982
The Bellarmine Jug 1984
Truant State 1987
The Country Without Music 1990
The Blosseville File 1992
A Grain of Truth 1994
Our Man K 1999

Short Story Collections
The Hat on the Letter 'O' and Other Stories 1978
The Hat on the Letter 'O' (revised edition) 1990

Anchor and Other Dreams 1976
On the Edge 1981
Chinese Journey 1985 (with Christopher Koch)

Collage: Recollections and Images of the University of Western Australia 1987, essays
Offcuts From a Legal Literary Life 1993, essays
The Legal Labyrinth 2003

Other Web Pages
Hasluck writes about his use of historical material in his essay titled: "Writing Ourselves: History and Creative Imagination".

This page and its contents are copyright 2001-04 by Perry Middlemiss, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.

[Prev] Return to Larrikin Literature Page.

Last modified: December 8, 2004.