Richard Flanagan

Brief Biography

Richard Flanagan was born in 1961 in Tasmania, and left school at the age of 16. He has been a labourer and Rhodes Scholar (to Oxford), and is married with three children. His brother is the Melbourne-based journalist Martin Flanagan.

Each of Flanagan's three novels has been shortlisted for the Miles Franklin Award, and Gould's Book of Fish won the 2002 Commonwealth Writers' Prize.


Death of a River Guide 1994
The Sound of One Hand Clapping 1997
Gould's Book of Fish 2001

Student Accommodaton Crisis 1984
A Terrible Beauty: History of the Gordon River Country 1985
The Rest of the World is Watching 1990
Codename Iago: The Story of John Friedrich 1991

This page and its contents are copyright © 2003-04 by Perry Middlemiss, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.

[Prev] Return to Larrikin Literature Page.

Last modified: December 20, 2004.