Robert   Robert Drewe

Brief Biography

Robert Drewe was born in Melbourne, Australia in 1943. He grew up and was educated in Western Australia where he took up journalism with the West Australian in 1961. He was literary editor for the Australian from 1971 to 1974. He won the Walkley Award (Australia's highest such award) for journalism in 1976 and 1981. He currently lives in Sydney.


The Savage Crows 1976
A Cry in the Jungle Bar 1979
Fortune 1986
Our Sunshine 1991
The Drowner 1997
Grace 2005

Short Story Collections
The Bodysurfers 1983
The Bay of Contented Men 1989

The Picador Book of the Beach 1993

South American Barbecue 1990

The Shark Net 2000 (memoir)

This page and its contents are copyright 2000-05 by Perry Middlemiss, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.

[Prev] Return to Larrikin Literature Page.

Last modified: December 24, 2005.