The Singing Garden
C.J. Dennis



I haven't seen a copy of this book. It has not been reprinted, to the best of my knowledge, since the original 1935 edition. The only information regarding the book I have is that the collection contains material that was originally published in the Melbourne Herald - with the exception of the prose pieces "The Way of the Vandal", "Recuperation" and "The Quiet Hour" which were published in this volume for the first time.

Details of the contents of this book have been obtained from C.J. Dennis: A Comprehensive Bibliography by Ian F McLaren.



The Way of the Vandal - [prose]
Forest Sanctuary
Green Walls
Morning Glory
Blandishing the Birds
The Wedge-Tailed Eagle
The Coachwhip Bird
The Welcome Swallow
The Wattle Bird
The Eastern Shrike-Tit
The Spinebill Honeyeater
The Flame-Breasted Robin
The Firetail Finches
The Pallid Cuckoo
The English Blackbird
The Bronze Cuckoo
The King Parrot
The Tawny Frogmouth


This Lonely Forest
North Wind
Heat Wave
The Grey Thrush
The Rufus Fantail
The Scrub Wren
The Kookaburra
The English Goldfinch
The Grey Goshawk
The Grey Fantail
The Little Black Cormorant
The Golden Whistler
The Tree Creeper
The Gang Gang
The Singing honey-eater
The Boobook Owl
The Lyretail
The Black and White Fantail
The Dusky Wood-Swallow


The Kookaburra Murder Case
Indian Summer
First Frost
The Case of Long Tom Silver
The Magpie Lark
The Silver-Eye
The Crimson Parrot
The White Cockatoo
The Butcher Bird
The Blue Kingfisher
The Ground Thrush
The Sparrow
The Indian Myna
The Yellow-Tailed Thornbill
The Wonga Pigeon


Birdland on the Dole
The Tree
The Besting of Bombastes
The Blue Wren
The Currawong
The Black Cockatoo
The Satin Bower-Bird
The Bronzewing Pigeon
The Crow (Australian Raven)
The Yellow Robin
The Pink-Breasted Robin
The Magpie
Promise of Spring
The Quiet Hour

Copyright © Perry Middlemiss 2002-05