Carmel Bird

Brief Biography

Carmel Bird was born in 1940 in Launceston, Tasmania, and later educated at the University of Tasmania. She travelled and lived in Europe and the USA for a time before returning to Australia to live in Melbourne. Her novels The Bluebird Cafe in 1991, White Garden in 1996, and Red Shoes in 1999 were all shortlisted for the Miles Franklin Award.


Cherry Ripe 1985
The Bluebird Café 1990
The White Garden 1995
Crisis 1996, under the pen-name of Jack Power
Red Shoes 1998
Unholy Writ 2000
Open for Inspection 2002
Cape Grimm 2004

Short Story Collections
Births, Deaths and Marriages 1983
The Woodpecker Toy Fact and Other Stories 1987
The Common Rat 1993
Automatic Teller 1996

The Mouth 1996
The Cassowary's Quiz 1998

Dear Writer 1988
Not Now Jack - I'm Writing a Novel 1994
Dear Writer 1996, revised and expanded edition

The Writing on the Wall: Collection of Poetry and Prose by Women 1985
Australian Short Stories 1990
Relations 1991
Red Hot Notes 1996
Daughters and Fathers 1997
The Stolen Children: Their Story 1998
The Penguin Century of Australian Stories 2000

Carmel Bird has her own webpage.

This page and its contents are copyright © 2002-05 by Perry Middlemiss, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.

[Prev] Return to Larrikin Literature Page.

Last modified: January 29, 2005.