Jessica Anderson

Brief Biography

Jessica Anderson was born in Gayndah, Queensland, in 1916 and has lived most of her life in Sydney, other than a few years in London. She started her career as a novelist rather later in life than most, although she has previously written short stories for newspapers and novel dramatisations for radio.

Anderson has won the Miles Franklin Award twice; for Tirra Lirra By the River in 1978, and for The Impersonators in 1980. Stories from the Warm Zone won The Age Book of the Year Award in 1987.


An Ordinary Lunacy 1963
The Last Man's Head 1970
The Commandant 1975
Tirra Lirra By the River 1978
The Only Daughter 1980
The Impersonators 1980
Taking Shelter 1989
One of the Wattle Birds 1994

Short Story Collections
Stories from the Warm Zone 1987

This page and its contents are copyright © 1995-2007 by Perry Middlemiss, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.

[Prev] Return to Larrikin Literature page.

Last modified: July 3, 2007.